Texas guidelines for marijuana drug offenses
Posted By Law Offices of Jeffrey C. Grass || 21-Apr-2015
As the debate over the legalization of recreational and medicinal marijuana continues in the states across the country, attitudes toward the drug are beginning to change. Not only is marijuana becoming more socially acceptable as a relatively safe drug, but stereotypes over the types of people who use marijuana are also beginning to erode. Unfortunately for you or anyone else who is accused of using marijuana, however, Texas drug charges continue to reflect a zero-tolerance policy. That is why we here at the law offices of Jeffrey C. Grass are committed to upholding the rights of our clients at all times.
According to the Weed Blog, you can face a number of different criminal charges depending on the nature of your alleged marijuana offense. For instance, you could face a $2,000 fine and up to 180 days in jail if you are convicted of possessing 2 ounces or less of marijuana. The offense is considered a Class B misdemeanor. However, the charge for possessing the same amount of marijuana could be changed to a Class A misdemeanor, which is a more severe charge, if it is your second offense.
Considering the severity of marijuana charges that you could face, it is also important to note that committing an offense within a particular region can increase criminal penalties in many cases. For instance, you could face higher fines and the prospect of a longer jail sentence if you were found to have distributed marijuana within 300 feet of a specified area or within 1,000 feet of a school facility. Similarly, distributing any amount of marijuana to a minor carries much more severe penalties.
Texas marijuana drug laws can be complex and difficult to understand. Visit our web page today to learn more about marijuana drug possession and other related offenses.
Categories: Drug Possession