What Are the Consequences of Failing to Register as a Sex Offender?
Posted By The Law Offices of Jeffrey C. Grass || 7-Aug-2014
If you are a convicted sex offender and you move to a different municipality, you are required by law to register your change of address. You’re also required to periodically check in to verify that your address is still correct. In Texas, you must register within seven days of moving. If you fail to register or miss a check-in, you’re facing additional criminal prosecution.
As your sex crimes lawyer can inform you, you could be facing a state felony jail charge if you’re required to register for 10 years. If you’re required to check in annually yet fail to do so, you’re facing a third-degree felony charge. Those who are required to check in every 90 days face a second-degree felony charge. If you have a history of missing these check in times, you could face additional repercussions.
If you’ve been charged with failure to register as a sex offender in Texas, it is imperative to obtain the services of a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. Residents of the Dallas and Plano areas can call the Law Offices Of Jeffrey C. Grass at .